Will I Lose My Driver's License?

YOU HAVE LESS THAN 15 DAYS from the date of your arrest to prevent your driver’s license from being automatically suspended.

When you are arrested for DWI, your Texas driver’s license will be automatically suspended unless you request an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing within 15 days of your arrest. The professional DWI attorneys at The Law Office of Troy P. Burleson, P.C. can assist you in filing a request for an ALR hearing in time to prevent an automatic license suspension. Our knowledgeable staff and DWI attorneys will provide this service at no cost and no obligation even if you do not ultimately retain our DWI attorneys to represent you in your Collin, Dallas or Denton county DWI offense.

License Suspension Facts

Texas courts have held that as a condition of receiving a Texas State driver’s license Texas residents give their implied consent that they will submit to a breath test or blood test is you are suspected of driving drunk. Under the implied consent law your license can be suspended if you refuse to take a chemical test even if you are later found not guilty of DWI. Under certain circumstances, you cold also loose your drier’s license if you submit to a breath test or blood test if the result of the chemical test shows your BAC is over the Texas legal limit of 0.08.

How can You Prevent Your License From Being Suspended?

When you are charged with drunk driving, your license is not immediately suspended. Although the arresting office typically will retain possession of your driver’s license card, you may continue driving without restrictions while your ALR hearing and criminal case are pending. However, you must request an ALR hearing prior to 15 days from the date of your arrest. If you fail to request an ALR hearing in time, your driver’s license will be suspended automatically on the 40th day after your arrest.

How can we help?: The professionally DWI attorneys at The Law Office of Troy P. Burleson, P.C. have handled hundreds on ALR hearing for our clients. Our DWI attorneys know how to look for errors in the ALR paperwork, subpoena all witnesses, and aggressively cross examine arresting officers in an attempt to prevent your driving privileges from ultimately being suspended

Occupational Driver’s License

In the event your regular driver’s license is suspended, the Law Office of Troy P. Burleson, P.C. can request a restricted license on your behalf known as an Occupational Driver’s License. An Occupational Driver’s License allows you to driver up to 12 hours a day for work, school and household duties.

For a FREE evaluation concerning a license suspension or an occupational driver’s license contact The Law Office of Troy P. Burleson, P.C.